Most Rev. Oswald Lewis
Bishop of Jaipur

2018 Easter Message By Most Rev. Oswald Lewis

Shepherd’s Voice : AUGUST 2018

Vocation Sunday will be celebrated on the first Sunday of August, ie. 5th August 2018, as the Agra Region has been doing it over the years. The Youth Commission of the Conference of Catholic Bishops of India(CCBI) has announced, a few months ago, that the National Youth Sunday be celebrated on the 1st Sunday of August in all the Latin dioceses of India. The commission has proposed that the youth in all the parishes must come together and celebrate the Holy Mass exclusively for the youth and the Sunday collection be sent to the National Office of CCBI, Bengaluru. In the context of Jaipur Diocese, the youth will celebrate the Vocation Sunday along with National Youth Sunday, during the main parish mass along with all parishners. Surely the Parish Priests, Parish Youth Directors, Youth Animators will put in all creativity and efforts to make the celebration meaningful. The Universal Catholic Church observes vocation Sunday on the fourth Sunday of Easter, which is famous as Good Shepherd Sunday. The Easter Season deepens our faith in the Resurrection of Jesus with the evidences of Mary Magdalene and the Apostles. The readings of the 1st three Sundays of Easter are taken up completely by the great central event of Salvation History, the resurrection of Christ, its meaning for the first disciples and its significance for us at the present time. However, fourth Sunday of Easter shifts the importance to the loving care of a Good Shepherd towards the sheep. The Liturgical readings of this Sunday highlight the life of the shepherds, their loving care and concern for the sheep. The focus is on their faithfulness and commitment even to the point of death. Calling himself the “Good Shepherd” Jesus vouches to lay dawn his life for his sheep. Meanwhile the sheep recognize the voice of the good shepherd and respond to his voice. “The sheep follow him because they know his voice”

Brief History

Jaipur, the capital of Rajasthan, is a complete all season destination created in pink stone. Jaipur derives its name from Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II, a prince, soldier and astronomer, who built the city in 1721 in accordance with Shilpa Shastra, the ancient Hindu tradition on architecture.

The first Christian presence in Jaipur goes back to the time of Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh of Jaipur. In 1728 Father Emmanuel de Figuredo accompanied by a lay man Pedro de Silva, who later settled down in Jaipur, came to Jaipur at the invitation of Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh. The Maharaja gifted a piece of land and contributed generously for building of Sacred Heart Church at Ghat Gate in 1871.

The first resident priest of Jaipur was Fr. Conrad OFM Cap. In 1890 Rajputana and Malwa Missions were created separating them from Agra Diocese and in 1891 this new mission was made into an Apostolic Prefecture appointing Fr. Bertram OFM Cap., as the first Prefect of the new Prefecture. To start with there were five priests and five stations namely Bandikui, Nasirabad, Jaipur, Neemuch and Mhow.

© 2018 -Diocese Of Jaipur