Most Rev. Oswald Lewis
Bishop of Jaipur

2018 Easter Message By Most Rev. Oswald Lewis


On Christmas day our attention was focused on Jesus, the Incarnate Word of God. On New Year day the central stage is occupied by the Mother of Christ. Jesus, being God himself, Mary becomes the Mother of God . When the Church honours Mary as the Mother of god, it does not mean the Jesus divine nature comes from Mary. The divine nature of Jesus is from the beginning, from eternity, but it is the human nature that was formed from the humanity of Mary. It was in the womb of the Virgin Mary the infant Jesus was conceived and grew up without loosing His divine nature . By celebrating the feat of Mary, Mother of god, the church reminds us that in her we see the one who was full of god’s blessings and the one who always, fully and faithfully responded to and cooperated with the grace of god .by celebrating the new year day, we are reminded of god’s grace to each of us year after year.

We wish’ A Happy New Year’ to all our near and dear once. We express our wish and pray that the coming year 2019 may be a year of happiness, peace and joy. At same time, we turn to god who is the source of all blessings and graces that all our hopes may be fulfilled and our aspirations may be actualized. We, who believe that we are always in the hands of god and live in his presence, have full hope that our prayers be granted, if it is his will.

Brief History

Jaipur, the capital of Rajasthan, is a complete all season destination created in pink stone. Jaipur derives its name from Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II, a prince, soldier and astronomer, who built the city in 1721 in accordance with Shilpa Shastra, the ancient Hindu tradition on architecture.

The first Christian presence in Jaipur goes back to the time of Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh of Jaipur. In 1728 Father Emmanuel de Figuredo accompanied by a lay man Pedro de Silva, who later settled down in Jaipur, came to Jaipur at the invitation of Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh. The Maharaja gifted a piece of land and contributed generously for building of Sacred Heart Church at Ghat Gate in 1871.

The first resident priest of Jaipur was Fr. Conrad OFM Cap. In 1890 Rajputana and Malwa Missions were created separating them from Agra Diocese and in 1891 this new mission was made into an Apostolic Prefecture appointing Fr. Bertram OFM Cap., as the first Prefect of the new Prefecture. To start with there were five priests and five stations namely Bandikui, Nasirabad, Jaipur, Neemuch and Mhow.

© 2019 -Diocese Of Jaipur